Posted in Uncategorized

Mindset of a Traveller – 1

The caption above is the best I have seen in the last few days. The fire flames at the bottom of the picture explains the caption very aptly. “Carry only what you need for the journey”.

Humans seldom think about,

WHAT loads are they carrying with oneself?

WHY am I cThe path covered by light\nThe path of unveiling the unknown\nThe path of Truth, MY truth, OUR Truth, THE Truth.arrying, what I am?

HOW difficult the travel is going to be?

WHICH thing will help me reach faster?

WHEN will I reach?

WHERE will I reach?

The above questions can be asked in any random manner, but it is the answers which are very important. These questions help us decide our mindset. These questions help us decide the rights and wrongs in our life. These questions are like the light house of our journey. At any phase in life, we just need to sit down, lay back and think about the answers.

The answers might be one word, a sentence or even a paragraph, again to each it’s own, but they will lead us unto a path

The path covered by light

The path of unveiling the unknown

The path of Truth, MY truth, OUR Truth, THE Truth.

The other day, I saw a family travelling by train. As we were just besides each other, we started talking. During our conversation, I came to know that they are travelling to a hill station for their weekend holidays. But looking at their luggage, I had an impression of a long travel and stay. I asked the man, the reason for carrying so much luggage. He just said that it’s needed for two whole days. I didn’t argue. But I started thinking. Is this luggage needed? Are we going for fun or changing clothes every 2/3 hours. But then I realised that everyone does this. There was a time when a couple of Pants and Shirts would suffice for a trip for 4/5 days and nowadays we carry independent clothes for each day. What happened to the concept of washing clothes? Lost in bewilderness.

Whenever I see some visitors just carrying a rucksack with a few clothes and a bare minimum necessities, am reminded of my childhood days. I think we have lost the essence of travelling. In no way do I have any problems with dressing up, I myself love to dress up but let us ask the questions I asked at the beginning before we begin our travel.

My dear readers,

isn’t it the same with our lives, the biggest travel on earth?

Am I not a traveller on this Earth too?

And do I not have a mindset of my own?

Do I not carry the luggage of like and dislikes, mines and yours, happiness and sadness and many more?

Do we ever think about these things or are simply don’t care?

Think and reply and that would be my next blog depending on the answers shared by you all.

I want to make an interactive blog this time and start a thinking process amongst our brains and want you all to put your thoughts down and share. Will share them in the 2nd blog which I will write on these questions.

So let the conversation begin…

Author:

Am a teacher by profession. A student of History and international politics. Believe that Bhakti (Devotion) and Humanism can only save Humanity. Revere all creation. My thoughts are influenced by His Holiness Pandurang Shashtriji Athavale

55 thoughts on “Mindset of a Traveller – 1

  1. It is very sensitive topic looks philosophical but is very relevant for achieving and experiencing ‘happiness’.. the reasons of not able to behave like a traveller are multifold…

    1) Attachment towards things…objective happiness I.e. what one feels about happiness looking at someone else..thinking that by doing that same act one can also become happy.

    2) We started believing from childhood that more we possess we will be happy. More we acquire we are successful.. classic example is the way that leads to temple is also full of shops which distract us..or when come back from any travel, last day we spent on shopping for momentos and gifts etc..

    3) our thirst to get abundance also causes us to go for so many materialistic pursuits.

    In short for developing travellerindset only options are Sadhana and Swadhyay..

    Self introspection to think about it and reflect on my needs and priority

    Concentration and meditation on my inner true self..to lead me to truth.

    GB

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Loved the blog.
    Truely the journey between dreams and reality is actions. Why not let our journey define the destiny instead of destiny defining our journey.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Sir u r just speaking the real truth of the lyf. Some just carry these many clothes for just show off n photography and carrying so much luggage end up by muscular pains

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It had made all of us to think of our life journey and what kind of loads do we have to carry or not carry in our life journey.
    Another great one.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I think todays time is something where people are just travellimg for social media show off. If u tell them that u gotta travel without your phone or without uoloading a picture, most of them will change their mind and wont come. The truth is nobody is interested in enjoying the view, rather everyone is just there for showing others how good and enjoyable their lives are. Social media is a LIE. This blog is so great and thoughts are fresh. It gives a great msg that sometimes take a break amd enjoy wat u got. Enjoy the view rather than just proving others that u enjoyed.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s true that we are traveller on this earth and carry luggage along with us but according to me, if the luggage will more , more will be the happiness of living life.
    New shirts and pants for each day makes the joyful life and makes life worth living.
    Yes, it depends on the luggage you carry….and the luggage is decided on your deeds of past life.
    So,let us be ready to pack the luggage of our next and long lasting journey.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. People deep motivations are in fear and love. All our outworldly actions are based upon these two inner feelings ‘to do’. We also find it hard to make choices and conviction in decisions. Therefore baggage in many ways ….

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Amazing blog sir! !
    1.yes, i m a traveller on earth just like
    Every other im trying to find home
    And enjoy the tourny as well!
    2.yes i do have a mindset of my own which is storng to not make me quit this journey.
    3.yes i do! How can i not its human nature to carry these luggagees forever,we carry them even though they make are journey .but that’s wht makes us different from other animals our unwanted luggages without which we are nothing but an empty vessel.
    4.depends from person to person,perspective towards things differ in all humans, some don’t care at all,some do care and very few and unique one care too much about such things!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Very true..
    Kisi ne khoob kaha hai,
    “जिंदगी में लुप्त लेना है अगर सफर का
    तो जनाब,दिल में अरमान और साथ में सामान कम रखिए..”

    Liked by 2 people

  10. I guess the blog is not just about worldly things. It does ask us to introspect. Definitely one must decide how much he need for his journey or travel but same principle can applied to the journey of Life.

    वासांसि जीर्णानि यथा विहाय नवानि गृह्णाति नरोऽपराणि ।
    तथा शरीराणि विहाय जीर्णान्यन्यानि संयाति नवानि देही ॥ २-२२ ॥

    जातस्य हि ध्रुवो मृत्युर्ध्रुवं जन्म मृतस्य च ।
    तस्मादपरिहार्येऽर्थे न त्वं शोचितुमर्हसि ॥ २-२७ ॥

    Bhagavad-Gita says it all. From where I have come from? Where do I have to go? How to do reach there? These simple questions we must ask ourselves.

    Upanishad speaks to us,

    As is the Human body,
    So is the Cosmic body.
    As is the Human mind,
    So is the Cosmic mind.
    As is the Microcosm,
    So is the Macrocosm
    As is the Atom,
    So is the Universe.

    So, what are we? Who are we?

    यथा पिंडे तथा ब्रह्मांडे।

    In present times, we have been mesmerized by the Materialistic progress of Life and forgotten the essence of Life. Today we are just behind the materialistic needs which will not be accompanying us after death. Since death is a new beginning not an end of life, we must carry which we need in afterlife. Only the Karma which is going to accompany us. Choice remains with us whether it is Good Karma or Bad Karma. In any case, even after infinite lives we have to lessen our Karmik baggage to merge with Almighty.

    I cannot say anymore as it is very well explained by Bhagwan Shrikrishna in Bhagavdgeeta.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. “Carry only what you need for the journey”

    In my own experience and also as a part of Human Behavior, be it a current Humans or homo-sapiens, We always were a gatherer.

    It was so indwelling that somewhere it has become part of our instinct. If I introspect my traveling and packing experience, I have seen that I always pack more clothes than required. Thinking this might come handy.

    Deep down I know my rationality is getting defeated and my instinct is taking over. I guess this happens almost everywhere in our life.

    In my humble opinion we have somehow completly stopped thinking, it is thoughts which can get converted into actions.

    With the amount of screen time we have, whose sole purpose is to make us handicap and not think.This are those who don’t know if they are traveling. And if they know they are traveling they are stuffed with so much of luggage, they don’t know what to use it and when to use.

    And for those selected few who has iota of thought that they are traveling. Are traveling with clothes which is changed almost every 2/3 hrs.

    I remember one of the quote of Vivekananda.

    Take up one idea. Make that one idea your life – think of it, dream of it, live on that idea. Let the brain, muscles, nerves, every part of your body, be full of that idea, and just leave every other idea alone. This is the way to success.

    Swami Vivekananda.

    I think if we decide to have one philosophy in our rucksack , The Philosophy to live with, one which can be live on. Resolves almost all everything.

    If we have one philosophy, we will have framework live our life.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Positive assertion towards life needed for sucess n happiness of journey.
    If we focus on process then no worry about result.
    Faith on own is the key to reduce the stress while journey going on.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. It’s really an excellently analysed of mindset idea for our “Journey & Life Journey” with our Dadaji’s philosophycal muli dimentional areas……

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Life is not about just thinking about ourself and our family.Every part of it should be cherished by giving what we have or a part to the society ,then see life will be a journey with a great company.From the blog you wrote, I think this is also the moral we get from it.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. So true. When we’d learn to carry only what’s necessary on the journey of our lives, we’d be less materialistic and more spiritual and giving. Also we’d be able to plan and figure out things better. ❤❤❤

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Very true also while traveling the journey of our life,we should not carry the negative things along and just embark the journey with positive things to make our journey pronounced 😅😊 Great one sir,your blog has plenty of folds which are relatable.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article!
    It is the little changes that produce the most important changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

    Like

  18. Hello there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was
    wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
    hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.